For Growth and Profitability!

eVISA – The Digital Travel Feature

Last updated:

eVISA is a digital travel feature which allows foreign citizens to obtain a visa to their destination through the internet to their email address via PDF. NOTE: Australia & Canada (ETA), NZeTA, USA (ESTA), EU (ETIAS) are authorisation not eVISA.


eVISA is not just making life easier for travelers, but also for the countries issuing them. This saves time and money through online service that enables them to issue more visas and at reduced cost. NOTE: easier access to travel visa always increases tourism income.

eVISAs can be single-entry, double-entry, or multiple-entry. This will depend on your social conditions and international treaties. NOTE: once issued, the eVISA will typically have to be used within a certain period of time just like normal stamped VISAs.

VALIDITY of eVISA: If it’s issued to begin tomorrow and to expire on November 30th, and authorised period of stay is 90 days, the authorised stay starts on the day you enter the country even if you enter on November 30th, you will leave in February 2020. This is common in America.

With some countries, a person may not stay beyond the period of validity, this is usually set within the period of validity of their passport. The eVISA may also limit the total number of days the visitor may spend in the issuing country. This is common in Europe.

Once in the country, the validity period of a visa or authorised stay can often be extended for a fee at the discretion of immigration authorities. Overstaying a period of authorised stay given by the immigration officers is considered illegal.

Having an eVISA does not guarantee entry to the host country. Border crossing authorities make the final decision to allow entry, and may even cancel a visa at the border if the alien cannot demonstrate to their satisfaction that they will abide by the status of their eVISA.

eVISA countries in Africa:

Angola, Benin, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, Kenya, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

eVISA countries in Asia:

Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Cambodia, India, Kuwait, Myanmar (formerly Burma), Oman, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vietnam.

Thailand will start serving eVisa from 16th September 2019. [eVisaThailand]

eVISA countries in Europe:

Armenia, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine.

eVISA countries in America:

Antigua and Barbuda, Brazil, Canada, St. Kitts and Nevis.

eVISA countries honorary mention:

Australia and New Zealand
Credit: Agboola Peter

Also read;
Slovenia – Popular International Student Destination

More Stories
Vacation Destination
Top 5 Vacation Destinations This December